This article was originally published in the Fall 2016 print issue.
We asked our online writers and editors: What are your career aspirations in relation to the field of public health? What public health issues do you hope to make a difference in in the future?

thumbnail ELIZABETH LI – copy editor
There are so many areas of public health that interest me, but I am especially considering health management or policy. I’m also drawn to medicine, specifically pediatrics. Regardless of what I end up doing, my main goal is to help others and to leave a lasting impact. In the future, I aim to coordinate health resources to effectively prevent and stop the transmission of diseases. Right now, I’m interested in learning about the social and biological determinants of health. I hope to utilize this knowledge in the future to influence policy.

thumbnail NOAH FOROUGI – writer
I’m interested in the international aspect of public health, and I have always wanted to be involved in organizations like the World Health Organization or the Center for Disease Control and Prevention. I hope to work with on the ground efforts in areas impacted by public health emergencies. With recent outbreaks of Zika and Ebola, there is a great need for leaders in the international community to attack these issues head on. I hope to be a part of this effort to combat international, large-scale public health crises and make tangible impacts.

thumbnail SOPHIE MA – writer
I aspire to pursue a career in medicine as a primary care provider and integrate aspects of public health in my career for treatment and diagnoses. In the future, I hope to make a difference in improving health disparities in the community by helping underprivileged patients receive adequate care with a variety of affordable programs and training for other health care providers.

thumbnail BRANDON CHU – copy editor
Right now, I’m interested in learning about the social and biological determinants of health. I hope to utilize this knowledge in the future to influence policy. In the future, I aim to coordinate health resources to effectively prevent and stop the transmission of diseases.

AASHNA MEHTA – writer
After graduating from UC Berkeley with an undergraduate degree in public health, I hope to work for the CDC on preventative measures for reducing the spread of various diseases that plague our society today. Additionally, I hope to connect public health and medicine by pursuing a medical degree along with an MPH. I hope that my knowledge of public health will give me a new take on medicine. I believe that mental health is an important issue that people must address in order to lead successful and happy lives. I am also passionate about community health and human development – specifically the role nutrition plays in leading a healthy lifestyle. I hope to bring light to these issues in my future endeavors.

Leave a Reply

